Vermont Tech
Library   Catalog   Academic CalendarPortal LoginContact      
   
Vermont Technical College
About Vermont TechAdmissionsAcademicsStudent LifeAthleticsAlumni
Nondiscrimination Policy and Equal Opportunity Statement
Equity and Diversity Statement
Student Ombudsperson
College Office and Regular Services Hours and Phone Numbers
Student Rights
Responsibilities and Code of Conduct
Policies and Enforcement
Fire Safety in the Residence Halls
Residence Hall Policies
Alcohol Policies
A Drug Free College—A Drug Free Work Place
Department of Public Safety
Athletics, Intramurals and Recreation, Exercise Facilities and Clubs
Volunteer Opportunities
Commuter Students
Public Information
Residence Life
Sustainability, Energy Reduction and Conservation
Sodexo Dining Services
Academic Affairs
Student Services
Financial Aid Office
Hartness Library
Academic Resources
Nursing and Allied Health
Vermont Technical College Program in Dental Hygiene
Vermont Technical College Respiratory Therapy
Hostile Intruder Community Guidelines
Request More Info
Apply Online
print this page
email a friend
Home » Student Handbook » Fines and Penalties for Alcohol Offenses

Fines and Penalties for Alcohol Offenses

The following are the standard sanctions for alcohol policy violations. The College can, at its discretion, report offenders to the Liquor Control Board or State Police, and can add to these penalties if appropriate.

Failure to comply with sanctions may result in a suspension/dismissal hearing. The nature of the offense and sanctions will be hand-delivered in writing to the student and fines will appear on the student's bill as an alcohol violation. Students may be responsible for costs of individual meetings with the substance abuse counselor. Community service must be completed within a specific time, and there are penalties for failing to do so.

First Offense

Fine of $50; five hours of community service; attendance at a one hour alcohol education class taught by the College's Substance Abuse Counselor.

Second Offense

Fine of $100; ten to fifteen hours of community service; individual session with substance abuse counselor, whose recommendations must be followed; parental notification;  disciplinary probation.

Third Offense

Fine of $250; minimum fifteen hours community service; individual session with substance abuse counselor, whose recommendations must be followed; parental notification; disciplinary probation, possible housing suspension or expulsion from the College.

Supplying Alcohol to Minors

Counts as a second offense, with these additions: notification to the State Liquor Inspector; possible criminal prosecution; additional fines of $100 for the host and $50 per guest.


© 2014 Vermont Technical College     Randolph Center / Williston     800.442.8821     Privacy     Academic Calendar     Vermont State Colleges     Sitemap     Home